Veggie Soup, Potato Cornbread, and the Tomato Aliens

Working long hours doesn’t leave much time for blogging or anything else. Cooking is something I rarely do on workdays, no cooking/no dirty dishes :-), but it’s Saturday and I’m making vegetable soup.  A trip into town is needed to buy veggies I don’t have on hand. On my way out I stop and glance at the tomato vines, a week has gone by since I checked for ripe fruit. Usually no more than two or three tomatoes are ready to pick, today a couple of clusters are red.

20151003_161917_resized
A few are still green, some fruit is rotting-too much rain.

Mid Summer tomato vines.
Mid Summer tomato vines. I was surprised at how big these plants got as the weeks went by.
20151003_161746_resized
October, turning brown but still producing fruit.

20151003_161723_resized

The vines have spilled over onto my porch, this big tomato is resting in a potted plant.

big tomato

Wait, what is that?! At first glance I thought it was some sort of blight. A closer look…

20151003_161654_resized 20151003_161644_resized

Is that a caterpillar, what manner of beast is this? O_o  Whatever is on this bug is either eating it, or maybe the little white tubes are caterpillar eggs? Alien pods? I have to admit, wondering just what would hatch did cross my mind. I keep a light-saber nearby for such intruders (aka broom) and ChewBella on speed dial just in case. One evening when I opened the door this unfortunate alien was greeted and captured by her.

ChewBella guarding an evil katydid.
ChewBella guarding her captive, she really does favor Chewbacca don’t you think?

chewbell 1

Later this evening I did find out exactly what is taking place on my porch. A sinister snack, as in the movie Alien. At least the tomato horn-worm is nearly comatose, or so the video below says. 

movies_alien

Hmm, is this what they mean by reincarnation ? I’m putting that poor caterpillar out of its misery and squashing all the pods tomorrow!

The veggie soup is finished. I added 1/4 lemon, ground up in a food processor along with a few dashes of Mexene chili seasoning (oh sooo good). Most of it will be frozen, because potatoes become grainy after freezing I decided to leave them out. Since the potatoes were already cooked, I wanted to use them. A quick search on Google rendered a recipe for tater-cornbread.

I added a little butter and salt to the potatoes before blending in cornmeal.
I added a little butter and salt to the potatoes before blending in cornmeal.

The potatoes add texture and flavor I like, but a drier mix  will be used next time because the potatoes make the bread moist.

I hope your weekend is going well, blessings.

Leave a Reply

