Holiday Memories

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas with family and friends.  If you’ve ever spent the holidays working as I have, it makes you appreciate the season more.  We had a small gathering of close family and friends-and I must say the food was the best I’ve tasted in many-a-holiday. Kim did a great job, I was happy to let her prepare most of the dishes, what a cook she is! Thumbs waaay up! James’ grandma, Brooke and I helped too, the food was yum and we all ate too much of course.

 

Pam and I chose the front porch to relax, my daughter Kim joined us and promptly plopped down on my lap. Yes, I still bounce her on my knees and give big hugs!  20151225_160313_resized.jpg

 

Chris, Diana, Austin and their pet Baby were sharing the love as well. Baby shared a bit too much as she slurped baby Eden right on the mouth as I snapped a picture! 20151225_152638

Austin claimed the couch for his after-meal rest but gladly flashed me a handsome smile, while Diana and Eden chose the loveseat for their post-feast lounging.

 

Next up is New Years,  I would love to be in New York that night, but it doesn’t look like it is going to happen.

I cannot say this season was without the blues, a memory flash-back brought tears Christmas Eve. I turned to Microsoft Word and typed out the emotions flooding my mind,  threatening to drown my holiday cheer. The writing gave credence to the wound and settled my mind enough to enjoy Christmas Day. My life is far from perfect, but I do have a measure of happiness because of family, friends and love.

XO

 

“The wounds that never heal can only be mourned alone.” ― James Frey, A Million Little Pieces

Leave a Reply

